Management Team

Thomas Foster – RSTA Chairman 2020/21

Tom Foster from Foster Contracting was elected Chairman at the 2020 AGM held via weblink 2nd April 2020.

Tom returns for a second term as Chairman, having previously held the position in 1994 with the then RSDA

Paul Boss CEng FIHE FCIHT MIAM – Chief Executive Officer

Paul Boss was appointed to the position of the Chief Executive and Director of the Road Surface Treatments Association (RSTA) on 1st July 2020.

Paul has over 30 years’ experience within local authority highways and since 2005 was the Highway Asset Manager looking after strategic, tactical and operational highway asset management in Staffordshire.

He joined Amey in 2014 as part of the Staffordshire County Council/Amey Infrastructure+ Strategic Highway Partnership and managed the teams responsible for the design of structural, preventative and structures schemes within the Partnership.

Paul is a Chartered Engineer and Fellow of the Institute of Highway Engineers, Fellow of the Chartered Institution of Highways and Transportation, and Member of the Institute of Asset Management.  He is Vice Chair of the UK Asset Management Board and was Chair of the Midland Service Improvement Group Asset Management Task Group.

Rory O’Connor CEng FCIHT FIHE FIAT – Chief Technical Officer

Rory was appointed Chief Technical Officer for the RSTA in April 2020.

Previously he worked closely with the RSTA for 10 years in a member company in various capacities as Executive Committee member, Chairman – Surface Dressing Sector, and participant in numerous RSTA committees and technical groups including BBA/HAPAS, BSI and CEN committees.

Rory has held senior business management roles in quarrying and asphalt production, mastic asphalt production, asphalt surfacing, high friction surfacing, road marking, road surface dressing binder production, road surface dressing and other various road surface treatment contracting operations, including tendering, financial and operational risk and performance analysis.

Nigel Haycock – Head of Assessment & Training

Nigel Haycock 2017

Nigel Haycock was appointed as Head of Training & Assessment for RSTA in 2017. Nigel is based in Staffordshire having previously worked for Kier. He is a fully qualified and highly experienced trainer/assessor and also IQA. Nigel previously worked for Telford College teaching and assessing apprentices in Construction Operations and Highways Maintenance and prior to that worked for Stafford Borough Council for a number of years as a supervisor dealing with labour, materials, plant and contracts.

Sarah Knott – Administration Manager

Sarah returned to the team in April 2019.  Working in finance and administration in the manufacturing, steel industry, retail, and education sectors, she lead the office team at a charity for alternative education before to joining the RSTA team.  Based in the office with Katie, Sarah brings a strong skill set, always striving to put the customer first.

Katie Green – Administration Assistant

Appointed as administration assistant in September 2019 working in the office alongside Sarah.  Bringing her strong skills in customer care to the team, Katie worked most recently as a receptionist at Rybrook BMW based in Wolverhampton.